top of page

Sunlight Tales is a series of seven young adult phonics books written for upper elementary to high school interest levels with stories revolving around school, sports, travel, romance & even a lighthouse ghost!


Sunlight Tales begins with Sock Hop written in all one syllable words at a 1.0 reading level. Each subsequent book in the series incorporates new phonics concepts and raises reading difficulty until ultimately reaching a 6.0 reading level in the final book, Lighthouse Ghost.


Reading Level: 1.1 - 6.1

Genre: Young Adult, Sports, Travel, Romance

Size: 20 - 40 pages long

Inside: Practice Pages/Text/ B&W Illustrations

Binding: Staple Stitch Soft Cover and Digital Version Available

Phonics Concepts: One Syllable - Multi Syllable, Closed, Open, Consonant Teams (Digraphs), Blends, Vowel Tag (vc/cv, vc/v), Vowel Change (v/cv), Silent E, R Controlled Vowels, Diphthongs, Walkers (vowel teams), Yellows (complex vowel teams), Final Syllables


*Note: the 'Concepts' bubble will not actually be shown on the front cover of printed books (but on the back cover) so that from the front these books will appear like any other books to your student and not "phonics books"

Sunlight Tales - Phonics Books

    bottom of page